FAQ

Los Angeles Traffic Court Closures – What to Do?

Published September 24, 2013 Articles, FAQ Comments
0
traffic court

Due to budget cuts, several Los Angeles Supreme Courthouses are closing entirely. Several more will work for lesser hours or offer limited services. This leaves a lot of people unsure about where to go in case a need arises to attend courts for a variety of reasons. But people in need of court services will […]

Read More →

How Much Does a DUI Really Cost?

Published Articles, FAQ Comments
0
cost of a DUI

Getting a DUI involves some obvious costs such as the fine associated with the violation. However, it also includes some less-obvious costs. Things like lawyers’ fees, special state surcharges and license reinstatement fees may be unwelcome and unexpected surprises. Before the Fines People charged with a DUI often want to talk to a lawyer. While most […]

Read More →

What Happens To My Clean Driving Record?

Published Articles, FAQ Comments
0

When you accumulate points on your driving record, your insurance premium can go up. Your driver’s license can also be suspended or revoked if you accumulate more than: 4 points within a 12-month period 6 points in a 24-month period 8 points in a 36-month period If you have received a traffic ticket in California, […]

Read More →

What is I have a CDL?

Published Articles, FAQ Comments
0

A traffic ticket issued to Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) holders can result in the suspension of your California Commercial Driver’s License. If you drive for a living, losing your CDL can mean losing your job and source of income. Even after you get your suspended Commercial Driver’s License back, there is a high likelihood that […]

Read More →

Suspended License?

Published Articles, FAQ Comments
0
Suspended License

There are a number of reasons a license may be suspended. Here are some of the common traffic infractions for which your license may be suspended: DUI/DWI offense Speeding Reckless Driving No Automobile Insurance Outstanding Warrants Failure to report an accident This may happen and you may not have been aware of your license being […]

Read More →

Stop Sign Ticket?

Published Articles, FAQ Comments
0
Rolling Stop Penalty

Most Americans have heard about the “California stop”. This terms comes from the fact that most California residents don’t obey the 3 second rule when coming to a stop at an intersection with stop signs. Quite a few of them do not even come to a full stop and instead they just slow down. Officer’s […]

Read More →

What Constitutes Reckless Driving?

Published Articles, FAQ Comments
0
reckless

In California reckless driving is considered a misdemeanor punishable by 5 days and up to 90 days in jail and/or a fine of $500 to $5000. The driver also faces the possibility of having their license suspended and/or their vehicle impounded for 30 days. If there is an injury to anyone other than the driver […]

Read More →

What if the DMV is at fault?

Published Articles, FAQ Comments
0

NEGLIGENT OPERATOR Proceedings — Vehicle Code section 12810 — Can cause [a] your driving privilege to be suspended or restricted and/or[b] for the DMV to place you on Probation, which would mean that any traffic ticket or accident after being placed on probation could be a basis of suspending or restricting your driving privilege. If you […]

Read More →

Trial By Declaration?

Published Articles, FAQ Comments
0
defendant table fighting a ticket

Trial By Declaration gives you two options, so to speak. One of the things you can do without an attorney is a Trial by Declaration.  If the officer does not file his response, your case will be dismissed.  If he does and the judge finds you guilty, you can request a New Trial in person.  […]

Read More →

Can Traffic School Help?

Published Articles, FAQ Comments
0
traffic school

Vehicle Code section 41501 authorizes the court to give you “traffic school”.  You can attend the traffic school class by either going “in-person”, “home study” or “via the internet”. If you have not gone to a traffic school program within the past 18 months, you can attend an 8-hour traffic school.  Your ticket will be […]

Read More →